Albert Murray


Albert Murray

At times I think that I was born in the wrong time period but then I realize that maybe I just haven’t found my cause…

The black jazz critic, essayist and novelist Albert Murray died on Sunday in Harlem at age 97. I think how wonderful it would have been to sit across from this man to hear his story on life. To be acclaimed by people such as Duke Ellington AND Ralph Ellison.

This man needs more than a “blurp” in the news about his accomplishments.

“…Mr. Murray was many men: friend of Ellington and artist Romare Bearden (whose paintings hung in Mr. Murray’s Harlem apartment); foe of Marxists, Freudians, academics, black nationalists and white segregationists; and mentor and inspiration to Ernest J. Gaines, Stanley Crouch, James Alan McPherson and many others….”

I’m in awe of the cultural history that this man represents, that he challenged societal viewpoints and the cultural icons, such as Alvin Ailey, that gave him such acclaim.

It’s people like this that make me truly realize that I’ve got to find my passion and purpose….

One thought on “Albert Murray

  1. Pingback: The Ellingtons; The Kids are Alright … | Rick Keene Music Scene

Leave a Reply

